



For Immediate Release

CONTACT: Ryan Lamppa, PRRO Circuit

Media

Contact, ryan@eventpro.us

Quad-City Times Bix 7 Second PRRO Circuit 2024-25 Stop

The 50th Midwest summer classic offers a \$50,000 Open prize purse; race champions also earn qualifying spots to compete for the \$20,000 PRRO Super Bonus at the 2025 PRRO Championship presented by the Boilermaker 15K

DAVENPORT, IA – (July 25, 2024) – At the second stop on the **PRRO Circuit 2024-25**, more than 11,000 **Quad-City Times Bix 7** participants on Saturday morning, July 27, will "Run with the Best" as a world-class field is again expected. The 50th edition of the Midwest summer classic offers a \$50,000 Open prize purse, going 10-deep, with \$12,500 for each race champion. In addition, Bix 7 male and female "golden" winners will earn eligibility for the **PRRO Super Bonus**, now at \$20,000, to be awarded at the **2025 PRRO Championship** at the Boilermaker 15K in July 2025.

The international professional fields expected at Bix 7 include:

 MEN: Biya Simbassa (USA), defending Bix 7 champion & 2022 USATF 25K champion; Wesley Kiptoo (KEN), 2024 Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 Mile winner; Hillary Bor (USA), 2023 USATF 15K champion & 2020 Olympian 3000m steeplechase; **Shadrack Kipchirchir** (USA), 2022 USATF 8K champion; **Frank Lara** (USA), 2020 USATF 15K champion & '21 race runner-up; **Mohammed Reda El Aaraby** (MAR), 11th 2020 Olympic Marathon; **Nathan Martin** (USA); and **Jake Riley** (USA), 2020 Olympic marathoner

 WOMEN: Grace Loibach Nawowuna (KEN), recent Boilermaker 15K winner; Sarah Naibei (KEN), 2024 PRRO champion at Bloomsday 12K; Rachel Chebet (UGA); Maggie Montoya (USA); and Carrie Verdon (USA)

"The 50th Bix 7 has drawn a top international field, as expected, including defending men's champion Biya Simbassa and the 2024 PRRO champion Sarah Naibei, to compete for the \$50,000 Open prize purse and bragging rights. The race winners also will secure a spot for the \$20,000 PRRO Super Bonus at the 2025 PRRO Championship next July at the Boilermaker 15K," said **Don Kardong**, Professional Road Running Organization (PRRO) Circuit President.

American distance running icons **Frank Shorter**, **Bill Rodgers** (1980-81 race champion), **Joan Benoit Samuelson** (1983, 1985-86 & 1988 winner), and **Meb Keflezighi** (2002 & 2009 winner), as well as race founder and long-time race director (1980-2019) **Ed Froehlich**, will also be part of the 50th running celebration in Davenport.

The PRRO Circuit showcases world class competition at four of *America's Classic Road Races™*: the Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 Mile in Washington, DC; the Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K in Spokane, WA; the Boilermaker 15K in Utica, NY; and the Quad-City Times Bix 7 in Davenport, IA. The 2024-25 PRRO Circuit offers more than \$340,000 in guaranteed prize money overall, with \$97,600 for U.S. athletes. The PRRO Circuit, a nationwide series of premier non-marathon road racing events, is organized and promoted by the Professional Road Running Organization (PRRO), an alliance of race directors.

THE PRRO CIRCUIT 2024-25 SCHEDULE:

Boilermaker 15K, July 14, 2024, Utica, NY \$65,100 in prize money (\$14,500 U.S. prize money) WINNERS: John Korir*, Kenya, 42:11 and Grace Loibach Nawowuna*, Kenya, 49:18

50th Quad-City Times Bix 7, July 27, 2024, Davenport, IA \$50,000 in prize money

Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 Mile, April 6, 2025, Washington, DC \$80,600 in prize money (\$48,600 U.S prize money) plus performance bonuses

<u>Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K</u>, May 4, 2025, Spokane, WA \$81,000 in prize money (\$20,000 U.S. prize money)

THE 28th PRRO CHAMPIONSHIP

Boilermaker 15K, July 13, 2025, Utica, NY \$65,100 in prize money (\$14,500 U.S. prize money) as well as:

- \$20,000 PRRO Super Bonus to eligible male or female (split if both eligible male and female win)
- \$2500 to male and female non-eligible PRRO champions
- \$1500 to eligible males and females finishing in places 2-10

*Qualified to compete for the \$20,000 PRRO Super Bonus at the 2025 PRRO Championship.

Reigning PRRO champions **Tebello Ramakongoana** and **Sarah Naibei**, who won the 2024 PRRO Championship at the Lilac Bloomsday 12K on May 5, were the first two athletes to earn a chance to compete for the \$20,000 **PRRO Super Bonus**. They will be joined by all the athletes who win one of the 2024-25 Circuit events listed above. Those qualified runners are also eligible for the **PRRO Event Champion's Bonus** (\$1500 cumulative for eligible athletes who do not win the PRRO Championship but do finish in places 2-10 at the PRRO Championship). Any athlete who wins the PRRO Super Bonus is not eligible for the PRRO Event Champion's Bonus.

If the male and female winners of next summer's PRRO Championship at Boilermaker have not won any of the events on the current Circuit, they will be awarded \$2500 each as the PRRO Championship winners in addition to the prize money at the PRRO Championship event.

To-date, PRRO Circuit events have produced 17 world and 19 U.S. road records, awarded more than \$8.5 million in prize money and seen more than 2.7 million runners cross their finish lines. In addition, since 1996, the PRRO Championship race has paid out more than \$2.2 million including \$188,500 in PRRO Championship bonus money.

PRRO Championship and Circuit Year

The PRRO Circuit, launched in 1995, starts and finishes the Circuit Year at the same event that will also host the season-ending PRRO Championship race. The reigning titlists of the PRRO Championship and the event winners on the current Circuit are eligible to compete for the <u>PRRO Super Bonus</u> at the PRRO Championship.

Visit PRRO.org for more information, including its history and past champions, as well as how to join the PRRO Circuit.

#